Sugarcanes Amidst a City

I live in the East part of Negros and usually hang out at the East block where new buildings are built every year. It used to be just empty lots of greens, now, we have (if I’m not mistaken) 6 hi-strip establishments, Greenwich, Jollibee, Chowking, Mcdo, Savemore, Lopues East and other smaller establishments. But what remains constant is the sight of sugarcanes passing by in the middle of this transformed province. It reminded me of one of Jason Mraz’s songs “Quiet”. I usually spend time with my boyfriend here and for us, this place is always a reminder of how we both began. We used to talk and just sit in the “New Government Center” for hours. I remember him just telling me how he felt when we were only dating. We would sit on his motorbike, sip some soda and observe children playing on the grounds behind the government center which is now called “The People’s House”. 🙂 It’s always great to be reminded of how everything began.

Here is the first part of the song. You can check it out on youtube for the melody. 🙂

Every time I go home

There’s another cell phone tower

Construction getting louder

Paving over yesterdays

You and I

We will try to find the side that’s pretty

While our town becomes a city

We won’t let it be erased

Empires rise, empires fall

Will you be my constant through it all?

I will hold your hand and

Watch the world spin madly ’round this life, we’re

in

Everything goes quiet when it’s you, I’m with

Everything goes quiet when it’s you, I’m with 

 http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-109-E3984DFC5F04600931203898970CDA31

Leave a Reply

