Writing 101, Day Nine: The Red Sweater

Today’s Prompt: A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

She had a light complexion, a smile so warm I’d want to be wrapped around her arms again. Just like my mom, yes, just like how she smiled at me when I came home from a loss in a basketball game. She’d drop her chores, set the stove on low fire, wipe her hands on her apron, meet me at the entrance of our hallway and give me a big, warm hug. During winters, she’d sit by the fire and do the what she loves to do. I’d come home to a dim-lit living room with green and reds hanging around corners and a glittery decoration which says “Merry Christmas”. She’d craft something beautiful with the use of her hands. I could tell she was never bored. That night, she finished knitting a red sweater for me. She handed it to me and said it might be her last Christmas present. I told her that she shouldn’t be saying those things. She was still strong, happy, a warm sunshine in our home. I’m not sure how she’d look like now. But, I’m so happy that she’d left me with the best memories and looking at that lady on the bench, I picture she’s just around the corner continuing to love and look after me.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-143-98971930260C582BDC972259B31549EF

Leave a Reply

